Onward and Upward *Update* (May 2017)

Well I have not written one of these posts in a long time… very sorry about that, I have been quite busy. Where to start though… I finished my first full semester of Bible College almost about a month ago. Honestly that semester was very overwhelming and stressful. Despite it being my first full one, I was dealing with a lot of personal things as well within it. From creating new friendships, figuring out basketball stuff to even just getting used to being back in school again. But I am so thankful and still amazed how God got me through it all. It was literally a roller-coaster ride full of craziness.  God had my back either way in the midst of it all. However I am definitely looking forward to being back there in the Fall.

At the beginning of the semester I wrote a post on “Be still and know” that was my goal for that semester. God has for sure used that to His advantage throughout the semester. There were a lot of points throughout the semester that I had to “Be still” and let God step in and take over. Which honestly is one of the ultimate trust tests for myself. Like I said before this past semester has been an up and down rollercoaster but honestly I wouldn’t have had any other way because I was able to grow from it all and actually figure out what God wanted to show me and teach me.

James 1:2-4 one of many scriptures that has challenged me a lot this past semester says this. “Consider it pure joy, my brothers and sisters, whenever you face trials of many kinds, because you know that the testing of your faith produces perseverance. Let perseverance finish its work so that you may be mature and complete, not lacking anything.” Colossians 1:11-12 says this as well, “being strengthened with all power according to his glorious might so that you may have great endurance and patience, and giving joyful thanks to the Father, who has qualified you to share in the inheritance of his holy people in the kingdom of light.”  Besides learning how to “Be Still” I have also learned that God will give you trials and temptations along the way to test how strong your faith in Him truly is. With his strength and power we are able to overcome it and with our experiences we are able to share it with others to help strengthen and encourage other believers in their walk.  Pursuing Him will always be a personal challenge, sometimes we doubt or wanting to give up on Him even and just walk away. But…“Pursuing Jesus is not about doing more things to add to your list of priorities, it’s about inviting Jesus into each of those things, and creating room in your life for him to change you from the inside out and not just what you do.”- Unknown (forgot where I got the quote from). Pursuing Him more was one of my other goals and be going to a Bible College I am able to do that. That is what I have learned throughout the semester and definitely a lot can change in 4 months.

So now that it summer break, roughly 3 months until I head back to college, will have to see what God has in-store. I should really do more of these more often though… anyways until next time you hear from me… Good bye for now

Leave a Reply

