Be Still and Know (first post of 2017)

 

Low and behold it is 2017 and here I am, finally getting around to writing my first post of this year. For those of you who are new to my blog, Welcome! Feel free to read all the other posts if you desire to, your choice of course.

So a little update. I am finally at CBC (Columbia Bible College) working my way towards a BA (Bachelor of Arts) in Youth Work which is pretty exciting to be honest. College life is pretty insane and hard to get used to in the beginning that’s for sure. I am now entering my third week here and I must say I am enjoying it a lot so far. It was quite nerve wrecking in the beginning being new on campus not knowing too many people here I felt kind of like an outsider at first sadly, also getting my syllabus for my courses and actually doing school work once again which is something I haven’t done is soooo long (not joking). I took a year off after high school to do Auxano which was an amazing program for myself but you get what I mean. Anyways…

This past weekend I went to the CYWC (Canadian Youth Workers Conference) it was an amazing conference I enjoyed it so much… kind of wished we stayed for the last session but oh well we were all exhausted anyways. On Friday night I attended a session called “Be Still and Know” and I want to share what I have learned from that.

tumblr_odkpcv2fb11vd5v5vo1_1280

So “Be still and know” is based on Psalms 46. The photo above is actually verse 10 which says, “He said, Be still and know that I am God; I will be exalted among the nations, I will be exalted in the earth.” that verse right there alongside verse 1 that says, “God is our refuge and strength an ever-present help in trouble.” When I am stressed out which tends to happen a lot due to anxiety this passage brings me a sense of stillness and peace. It’s like God is telling me, “My Child I got this! Let me step in and take over…” which I believe is a struggle for all of us. However it is good to take a step back and just breathe knowing He does have this all taken care of.  Both of those verses to me are very powerful verses. What I got from this talk was that God knows what is going to happen in our lives, He is in control, He know what is set ahead of you because He has been there already. He even told the Israelite’s to even be still (see verse below).
images

The speaker did an illustration that went along with this very well. He asked us, “Are we a candle or an oil lamp?”  With a candle if you burn both ends they will just burn and burn until there is no wax left in result also burning all of the wick too. That shows us that the more we “burn” the easily we will be exhausted and tired overtime. Now, with the oil lamp that is a different thing. Overtime with an oil lamp you would eventually have to refill it after it runs out of oil… that is like us as believers in order for us to be refilled we need to find rest and satisfaction in God’s presence. Matthew 11:28-30 talks about this, “Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest. 29 Take my yoke upon you and learn from me, for I am gentle and humble in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. 30 For my yoke is easy and my burden is light.”  I personally love the fact that I can find rest in God’s presence feeling his embrace around me as I de-stress and calm down. It is also reassuring as well.

Lastly, I have a question and challenge for you all whose reading. The question is are you a candle or an Oil Lamp?  My challenge for you is to just “Be Still”, Unplug from your devices, go for a walk or a hike even just be still. This is also my goal for this semester as well. So don’t worry I’m doing this challenge too.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

