Poetry in Motion aka Wisdom Literature (feb 9-11/16)

I’m back once again, been over a month or so since I blogged last. Don’t worry I’m back at it. This post is all about the Wisdom Literature course we had back in the beginning of February. Enjoy.

So in the Bible there are 5 books that are considered the “Wisdom” books which are: Job, Psalms, Proverbs, Ecclesiastes, and Songs of Solomon (Song of Songs). Out of all of them I think my favorite might tie between Psalms and Proverbs, I can’t just choose one of those as my favorite they are just so good!  However wisdom is the skill to live right, meaning you have to apply what you have learned and put it into practice.

Job is the first one in the wisdom book. The book of Job is existential wisdom. Now you may be wondering, “Why Job?” Job was a man of God who lived his life and loved him as well. Throughout this story God got Satan to test Job 3 times to see if he will still follow and love God. Job had 3 friends of his that tried to get him to not follow God anymore. He was also doubtful at times and God showed his overwhelming power to Job to show him that God has everything under control through any situation. This story makes me ask, “How do I live right even though I go through trials and suffering through life?”  Job’s story encourages me to trust God through anything that comes my way.

Onto Proverbs, you may be thinking, “Did I miss Psalms?” I’ll be talking about that one last. Anyways, Proverbs is practical wisdom. It is a collection of wise saying and advice to gain knowledge and discipline to live life to the fullest, before Jesus returns of course. I enjoy this book a lot because I like quotes and sayings that I can relate to. There are so many different subjects in proverbs like, family, friendships, love and justice just to name a few. Most of the Proverbs are written by King Solomon himself, others were copied by the men of Hezekiah as well as Agur and Lemuel wrote the last two chapters. There is a verse in Proverbs that I found pretty ironic just for the fun of it I’ll share it with you all. “If you find honey, eat just enough-too much of it, and you will vomit.” Meaning if you eat too much sweets you will regret it later on. Onto the next book of wisdom but before I do here are some of my favorites sayings…

wp-1456011781490.jpg

Ecclesiastes is the book in the meaning of life. No one knows who wrote this book, but in this book the “teacher” looks at wisdom, pleasure, work, power, riches, religion, and other things. All of these have some value and are useful at the proper time and place, they do have lasting value only if God is the centre of a person’s life. Without God everything is meaningless.

With Ecclesiastes 5:2, basically think before you speak. Let your words speak life and truth to each other; if it isn’t then don’t bother saying it. The conclusion of this book is “Fear God and keep his commandments, for this is the duty to all mankind.”- Ecclesiastes 12:13b. 

Song of Solomon (Song of Songs is also what is called) is relational wisdom. To be really honest this book is really awkward to be read so I am going to avoid talking about it. However there is a verse that I do like and that is il_570xN.370492877_tidc

Finally Psalms! Psalms is devotional wisdom; there are various songs and poems in this book written by David, Asaph, Sons of Korah, Moses, Herman the Ezrahite, Ethan the Ezrahite,  and Solomon as well. There are a bunch of different types of psalms within this book, from praises, laments, ascents to psalms of celebration and remembrance. Most Christian songs and hymns you will find in the book of psalms. Some of my favorite verses is psalms are:

wp-1456016594201.jpg

I quite enjoyed this class a lot. But you ought be careful that you don’t take wisdom books out of context like don’t pick and choose verses that sound just right for the situation you are in. Learn how to read it as a whole. It is quite a challenge for sure even I tend do this a lot… Anyways I’m gonna leave you with this , it is true as well… See ya next time my dear readers  =)  wp-1456012011439.jpg

***On the side note i found all of these images on Google Images***

Leave a Reply

